Video: Should headbutt goals be allowed in hockey?

Deep into double-overtime of Game 2 between the Chicago Blackhawks and Anaheim Ducks, Chicago winger Andrew Shaw thought he pulled off a miracle play by heading the puck into the net, but the on-ice officials disallowed it after a brief review.

Should these types of goals be allowed, however? It was certainly exciting…

The NHL rule book didn’t exactly anticipate players heading the puck soccer-style, but Rule 78.5 does cover this ground:

78.5 Disallowed Goals – Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee and the appropriate announcement made by the Public Address Announcer for the following reasons: (i) When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.

Given the continuing dominance of goaltenders and an overall decline in scoring, should the NHL continue to reject such goals out of hand? Or does this represent a common-sense safety measure protecting players from throwing their noggins into harms way?